How Much Can You Earn with the Instagram Reel Bonus Program? (Updated January 2023)

Jenna Citrus
5 min readApr 3, 2022

If you think receiving an extra $1,000 a month from Instagram just by posting reels (their version of TikTok videos) is too good to be true…it probably is.

First of all, how does this work?

Instagram has chosen to give a bonus to some select creators in an attempt to compete with the new, popular trend of 15 second video clips. This bonus is still in beta testing so here’s what’s happening right now.

The first four months (up through April 2022) I was using the IG Reel Bonus I was receiving 1 cent per view for the first week or $200s I made from the views generated from my reels. If I had an old reel go viral after the bonus period ex: I posted a video on February 25th and on March 10th it went viral, I wouldn’t receive any income from it because of it being outside of the time frame.

Here’s a look at the kind of content I’ve been creating: art videos, dancing, and workout/flexibility challenges. https://www.instagram.com/jennacitrus/reels/

One of my videos went a little viral, but the first 60K views were not eligible for the bonus count, so I received nothing for them.

I finally thought I was reaching my creator stride when I broke into the $700 payout bracket in April with over 750K views accruing in one month, only to have the carpet ripped out from underneath me this month with them moving the goal of 9 million view in one month with still…

--

--